Thirty is the new black.

I’m hitting a milestone in a week.  It’s a “YIPPIE!!!!! …. Oy vey!” occasion.  I love my birthday (looooooove it), but this one is a bit hairy for me to swallow.  Yeah, yeah, I know 30 is the new 20, and things get better with age, and yada yada.  Don’t tell these things to a girl that is about to jump to the next category of ages when filling out surveys for the next decade – she won’t hear you.  I know it will be a fantastic season of my life, and I am actually looking forward to seeing what is brought about and how my life changes, it’s just getting over that little hill that makes my eye twitch.  To lessen the blow I’m taking to making a birthday wish list.  It has cheered me up so far!

Lauren Conrad has a “eat, drink, burn” rule for presents that people get for her.  I think that is a great idea! (I believe spouses should be exempt from this rule, but that’s just me…..my poor, poor future husband, bless his heart, wherever he may be…)  Sometimes people, even ones that know you inside and out, can get you gifts that make you over the moon, and sometimes they can COMPLETELY miss the mark.  A way to avoid that would be to instill a rule such as that for yourself.  Let friends and family know you’d enjoy wine, chocolate, a book from your reading list, a gift card to a local coffee shop, or a candle.  Choose a list of things that could never go wrong and are easily accessible.  The idea is to have them purchase easy, carefree items so that they don’t spend much or have any pressure over the purchase knowing that you’ll dig the item.  It is a win-win!  Leave the tricky, large purchases to yourself so that you know you will get exactly what you want!

I’m usually never indecisive on things that I want to get as my “me” presents for Christmas, birthdays, and congratulations you’ve worked an entire year and prepared you’re own taxes gifts.  I usually keep a running tally of items that I would love year round.  The hard decision is which piece I want to invest in and get for myself.  I am going to buy myself a little getaway for late summer (my big girl, adult present to myself), but I’d also love to get myself a “something for now” trinket as well.  So here’s what I’ve been drooling over lately:

Birthday

Kate Spade clutch
katespade.com

Kate Spade wallet
neimanmarcus.com

Fossil watch
fossil.com

Ray-Ban aviator sunglasses
revolveclothing.com

ASOS felt hat
asos.com

Diane James pink bouquet
gracioushome.com

Simpatico coconut candle
anthropologie.com

Illume round jar
anthropologie.com

 

Whadya think?  Lots of cute items!

Have a great week!

♥xo Kathryn

Leave a Reply

